Honey Blueberry Pound Cake

26 Jan

Oh dear. You’re really going to hate me for this. You might as well stop reading now for what I am about to tell you.

I do not like blueberries. Nope. I really, really, reeaallly don’t.

Unfortunately it seems the majority of the American population are crazy about them. Now that I’ve moved back into my childhood home I have been requested to bake. And there’s two packages of the blue-black orbs just chilling there in the fridge, so I might as well make something for the family. But I probably won’t eat it. I’ll pick at it, maybe.

This recipe for  pound cake was adapted by the lovely Amy from Sing for your Supper, who adapted it from Paula Deen. And leave it to Mrs. Deen to pack in the most  fat per square inch of cake as possible. No offense to those farther south of the Mason-Dixon, but the southern tradition of artery-clogging eats doesn’t exactly jive well with D.I.Y Kitchen. So I swapped a portion of the butter and shortening (shortening! harumpf!) with low-fat cream cheese, milk with skim milk, and replaced a tiny amount of sugar with honey. According to my research, 1 teaspoon of sugar is equivalent to 1/4 teaspoon of honey. This conversion is simple when you’re working with small quantities but the water density in honey makes it risky to replace in larger amounts.  1 cup of honey contains about 1/4 cup of water so 1/4 of liquid in a recipe should be omitted. Honey is also significantly sweeter than table sugar and, as you would guess, tastes like honey. So one should also take flavor into account when making replacements. This started as a plain pound cake and turned out as a Honey Blueberry Pound cake.

Enjoy a slice of this very moist but not-too-sweet confection with your morning tea (or coffee, in my case).
Honey Blueberry Pound Cake

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter at room temperature, cut into pats
  • 1/4 cup low-fat cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar minus 4 tsp
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (plus more for dusting the pan and blueberries)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup skim milk or non-diary milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • pinch of cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Toss the blueberries in a tablespoon of flour until they are coated. In a medium bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside. Using a hand mixer and a large bowl, cream the butter, cream cheese and sugar (begin by first creaming the wet ingredients and slowly add the sugar and honey until light and fluffy). Then add the eggs one at a time, beating briefly after each addition. Lower the speed on your mixer and mix in the flour and milk in alternating batches, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Then gently fold in the blueberries. Pour into a greased and floured 9×5 loaf pan. Bake for 70-90 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan



5 Responses to “Honey Blueberry Pound Cake”

  1. The Southern Lady January 26, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Hello, I just saw this recipe on Foodpress and it looks wonderful. I am one of those people that love blueberries and a Southerner that eats all that artery clogging food as well. lol. I love blueberries and I love pound cake so this has to be good. Thanks for posting. I may have to make it a little more Southern though. I’m sure Paula would approve! lol.

  2. Fun masti January 26, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Sounds delicious…gonna try it (y)

    • vgambrell January 26, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Let me know how yours turned out. Pictures coming soon!

  3. Molly January 26, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    This sounds so delicious. Normally I find pound cake a little dull, but honey & blueberries? I’m sold. Thanks for posting. I have a brunch potluck I’m attending soon and am totally going to bring this.

  4. gadson January 31, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I was told by a knowledgeable baker that “pound cake” was named thusly because originally the recipe called for a pound each of flour, sugar, butter, and eggs. Not your typical “diet” food, but really good toasted with coffee!! Like the adjustments you made to make it less deadly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

